Back to All Events

Rush Hour Playlist w/San Diego Symphony

  • Copley Symphony Hall 750 B sreet San Diego, CA 92101 USA (map)


A Jacobs Masterworks Rush Hour 2.0 Concert

Matthew Aucoin, conductor
Rod Gilfry, baritone
Coleman Itzkoff, cello


REICH: Excerpt from It’s Gonna Rain
ADÈS: These Premises Are Alarmed
HAYDN: "Introduction" from The Creation
BEETHOVEN: Mvt. I from Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21
AUCOIN: "Prologue" from Crossing Suite
SAARIAHO: Spins and Spells
RAMEAU: “Entrée de Polymnie" from Les Boréades
MAHLER: “Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen” from Rückert Lieder
STRAVINSKY: "The Shrove-Tide Fair" from Petrushka (1947 version)
AUCOIN: “Crossing Brooklyn Ferry” from Crossing Suite


Los Angeles Opera’s first ever “Artist-in-Residence” Matthew Aucoin (b. 1990) has some music he wants to share with you - from the past, from the present and predicting the future. Internationally acclaimed baritone Rod Gilfry make a special appearance to sing selections from Aucoin's own opera, Crossing, based on the poetry of Walt Whitman.

Note: This "Rush Hour 2.0" concert begins at 6:30pm and runs less than 90 minutes with no intermission. Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability are subject to change.

Earlier Event: January 15
Chamber Music@AMANDA + JAMES
Later Event: January 25
Matt's Playlist: Echoes of the Future