Back to All Events

Matt's Playlist: Echoes of the Future

  • Copley Symphony Hall 750 B St San Diego, CA, 92101 United States (map)


A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

(Note: a shorter version of this concert is performed at 6:30pm on Thursday, January 24.)

Matthew Aucoin, conductor
Rod Gilfry, baritone
Coleman Itzkoff, cello


REICH: Excerpt from It’s Gonna Rain
ADÈS: These Premises Are Alarmed
HAYDN: "Introduction" from The Creation
BEETHOVEN: Mvt. I from Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21
AUCOIN: "Prologue" from Crossing Suite
SIBELIUS: Mvt. IV from Symphony No. 4 in A minor, Op. 63
SAARIAHO: Spins and Spells
RAMEAU: “Entrée de Polymnie" from Les Boréades
MAHLER: “Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen” from Rückert Lieder
NORMAN: Play: Level 1
STRAVINSKY: "The Shrove-Tide Fair" from Petrushka (1947 version)
AUCOIN: “Crossing Brooklyn Ferry” from Crossing Suite


Los Angeles Opera’s first ever “Artist-in-Residence” Matthew Aucoin (b. 1990) has some music he wants to share with you - from the past, from the present and predicting the future. This playlist includes music by Beethoven, Schubert, Stravinsky, Lili Boulanger and others. Internationally acclaimed baritone Rod Gilfry make a special appearance to sing selections from Aucoin's own opera, Crossing, based on the poetry of Walt Whitman.

Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability are subject to change.

"Matt's PLAYLIST" made THE LIST! The New York Times has highlighted Matthew Aucoin and this concert as part of their annual Classical Music Fall Season Preview!